Writers' Guild Awards 2018 shortlists

Tuesday 5th December 2017, 9:27am

The shortlists for the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain (WGGB) Awards have been announced. The Awards, which particularly focus on the scripts of programmes, are judged by other writers.

Below are the comedy-related categories:

Best TV Situation Comedy

This Country. Image shows from L to R: Lee 'Kurtan' Mucklowe (Charlie Cooper), Kerry Mucklowe (Daisy May Cooper). Copyright: BBC.Daisy May Cooper and Charlie Cooper for This Country

Back. Image shows from L to R: Stephen (David Mitchell), Andrew (Robert Webb).Simon Blackwell for Back

Inside No. 9. Image shows from L to R: Steve Pemberton, Reece Shearsmith. Copyright: BBC.Steve Pemberton and Reece Shearsmith for Inside No. 9

Best Radio Comedy

Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy. Sarah Kendall. Copyright: BBC.Sarah Kendall for Sarah Kendall: Australian Trilogy

John Finnemore's Double Acts. John Finnemore. Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.John Finnemore for John Finnemore’s Double Acts

Kevin Eldon Will See You Now. Kevin Eldon.Kevin Eldon, Jason Hazeley and Joel Morris for Kevin Eldon Will See You Now

Best Online Comedy

Marek Larwood.Marek Larwood for Showreel for One Word or Less Parts

Image shows from L to R: Gabriel Bisset-Smith, Richard Shanks, Jon Pointing.Gabriel Bisset-Smith for Meet the city boys secretly voting for Corbyn!

Will Hislop.Barney Fishwick and Will Hislop for A Hard Brexit

Additionally Tim Bain and writing duo Ciaran Murtagh and Andrew Jones have been nominated in the Best Children’s TV Episode category for their episodes of animated Disney XD comedy Counterfeit Cat.

WGGB President Olivia Hetreed says: “I am enormously pleased and proud of the Writers’ Guild Award shortlists announced today. They represent the best of British writing by the best writers across the full range of dramatic and comic writing. And they are all selected by working writers in their own field. It is that judgement by your peers that makes these Awards unique and uniquely special to the winners.”

The results will be announced at a ceremony on Monday 15th January 2018 at the Royal College of Physicians in central London.

More information on WGGB and a full list of nominees across all genres can be seen at writersguild.org.uk

Share this page

Source link