Midlands Comedy Awards 2017 results

Monday 4th December 2017, 10:30pm

The results of the Midlands Comedy Awards 2017 have been announced.

The winners were revealed at a ceremony in Leicester tonight, which featured performances by a dozen finalist, on the theme of “comedy heroes”, with each act doing an onstage pastiche of their favourite comedians.

Rob Kemp, the The Elvis Dead show creator – who ‘dominated’ the shortlists with six nominations – walked away with three prizes on the night.

Other winners included Notts-based Barry Dodds, who picked up the Best MC trophy for the third year in a row; whilst Birmingham’s Joe Lycett won in the Best Act category.

Awards organiser Jay Islaam comments: “I’d like to congratulate all the finalists and the winners. This was obviously going to be Rob Kemp‘s year. He’s an exceptionally nice guy and the Midlands comedy community is delighted with his success in 2017, so it was inevitable they’d want to recognise that at the awards tonight. There’s also clearly great admiration for Barry Dodds too, as he’s won Best MC three years on the trot now.

“This is the fourth year of the Midlands Comedy Awards and the love and support from the regional comedy community for this initiative is wonderful to see. More than 4000 votes were cast this time around, and the competition was fierce across the categories. However, it’s great to see so many people celebrating the success of their peers so enthusiastically.”

The full list of results is below:

Best Act

Winner: Joe Lycett
Runner-up: Luisa Omielan
Third: Rob Kemp

Best MC

Winner: Barry Dodds
Runner-up: Gareth Berliner
Third: Stevie Gray

Breakthrough Act

Winner: Rob Kemp
Runner-up: Pete Teckman
Joint third: Jack Kirwan and Sarah Johnson

Best New Act

Winner: Jem Braithwaite
Runner-up: Gina Overton
Third: Count Evil

Best Alternative Act

Winner: Rob Kemp
Runner-up: Jack Kirwan
Third: Andrew McBurney

Best Live Show

Winner: Rob Kemp
Runner-up: Josh Pugh
Third: Phil Pagett

Online Comedy

Winner: Jack Kirwan
Runner-up: Masai Graham
Third: Craig Deeley

Best Comedy Club

Winner: The Glee Club
Runner-up: Funhouse Comedy
Third: Laff Attack

Best Small Club

Winner: Funhouse Comedy
Runner-up: FAF Comedy
Joint third: CAN Comedy and Blue Giraffe

Best Open Mic Show

Winner: The Holly Bush (Cradley Heath)
Runner-up: Comedy and Cocktails (Leicester)
Third: NCF £1 Night (Nottingham)

Outstanding Contribution

Spiky Mike, the creator of Funhouse Comedy.

Share this page

Source link